Hello From Texas!

I have officially been in Texas for two weeks now. I packed my bags in January, got on a plane, and started the newest season of my life. Sorry mom for leaving the guest room a mess. Trying to condense 26 years of life down to two bags is hard.

I have unpacked and settled in here for the next month. I got a couple of days of relaxation which was much-needed. I met my roommate. She is super nice. I have started to establish a routine. Change can be hard for me, so any semblance of a routine has been great to have. I often like to know what is coming and to be honest this is the first time in my life I can’t even guess what life will be like after this month. I have no comparison for what life on a hospital ship will be like and that scares me a little bit. I keep holding on to the truth that God is greater than the unknown.

IMG_3445.JPG
Texas sunsets are beautiful.

East Texas is not what I expected. The weather has changed at least eight different times since I have been here, but there have been some beautiful sunsets. We went on a day trip to the hometown of Miranda Lambert. We visited the Pink Pistol which she owns. It was fun to look around the store and see all the different cowboy boots I could buy. Don’t worry I’m not trading my flip flops for cowboy boots anytime soon and Sarah I will be sending you your shirt this week hopefully.

20170129_152041.jpg
At the Pink Pistol.

I miss everyone at home, but I am so excited for what this year will hold. Thank you for your prayers. They really mean a lot to me. Please pray that I would be open to learn and grow, that I would hear from the Lord, and that I would transition well to the coming changes. If you have any questions about my year living on the Africa Mercy feel free to contact me here or go to mercyships.org.

Leave a Reply

