Life Recently

Let’s be honest…my March Madness bracket is a complete mess. That being said, life continues to go on here. Time seems to go by fast and it still seems strange to me that my new normal is this. I have done a bit of exploring and have yet to get good pictures of what Cotonou looks like. Sorry about that. We did go to the fabric market and I did buy  fabric. There are thousands of choices and it is a bit overwhelming to just choose a few. I think I am going to have a skirt made. If I have leftover fabric I want a shirt as well. I may come home with a whole new wardrobe.

51178473480__E72946B4-D8F1-4154-B0E9-DF00E3E96865
This is the fabric I purchased.

I also went to ouidah. We walked the slave road here. Thousands of people were forced from their homes and into slavery. It was a sad reminder of the past and what is still going on in the world today. There is an old fort here that has been turned into a museum. We had a guide that walked us through the pictures and artifacts.  We then went on the 2k walk.  The walk ended at the gate of no return on the beach. It was an emotional experience, but one that I am glad I had.

IMG_3548

I am continually reminded of how small my wold was and, to be honest, still is. Walking through the city earlier this week I couldn’t help think that life is difficult. I often times shy away from the difficult things so that I am comfortable. My highest goal as a Christian should never be comfort, but sometimes I find myself clinging to it. I am called to so much more then that and I am still learning what that looks like in my life.

I am making friends here and learning a lot. Kathrin came to Benin with me and I couldn’t be more thankful for her. I have learned here how important it is for me to have a sounding board. As most of my close friends know I am a verbal processor. Thank you to all the people at home who have listened to me ramble and work through things because you are very valuable. I am slowly finding a small group of people I can process with, which makes all the difference.

IMG_3575
Kathrin and I standing in front of the Africa Mercy.

Please continue to pray that I make time for the important things. Pray that I would find a routine here, but that I would also stretch myself by doing things that are new and hard. Thank you for your continued pray and support. Miss you all!!

6 thoughts on “Life Recently”

  1. We have been praying God would surround you with a core of sisters in Christ so that each of you would be strengthened, encouraged and stirred on to complete His good work. It is wonderful to hear that He has already begun to place you with some special ladies. Grace Family Church sent a small package of letters from our members. We hope you will be uplifted through our thoughts, prayers and messages. May God continue to grow you and lead you as you follow after His call in ministry.
    You are loved!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Hi Nicole, I’m praying things are going well for you. Keep your eyes on Jesus and you will continually see all that He is doing? So grateful you have the opportunity to serve Him and let His light shine through you. Love you girl.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Nicole. LOVE your blog & pictures. I just wanted you to know you are loved, missed, and being prayed for. Our family is praying for you, our church, and our small group. May the joy of the Lord be your strength as you serve Him and the people there. XOXO Much Love, John & Janice Barry

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

